I Hate Typos + PAD Files Work

After my surge in sales today I was wondering “Hey, why didn’t Google pick up any of these?”  Turns out I had marked my conversion page as http::/foo instead of http://foo .   Haha, regular expression FAILURE.  D’oh.  As those of you who use Analytics probably know, Google won’t go back and rerun data after you fix filters like that, so the information is lost forever… but given the microscopic number of conversions I have its pretty easy to get manually.

Incidentally, one of my customers found me through a PR5 shareware site which automagically lists anyone who submits a PAD file to the ASP.  Considering that file took all of two minutes to generate using their free tool and that PR5 site ranks higher than me for some keywords thanks to the advertising copy I included in the PAD file, thats not a bad idea for people bootstrapping up a mISV.

Explore posts in the same categories: advertising, Analytics

One Comment on “I Hate Typos + PAD Files Work”

  1. Jay Batson Says:

    What was the name of the site? I’m always looking for new places to post.

    PAD files are great. And an increasing number of shareware sites are simply having a spider revisit your pad file URL, and then post an “update” to your listing hwen they detect a changed PAD file. It’s the way it “should be!”

    (PS – if you don’t mind, replying by email is nice, because I’ll bet I’ll forget to come back and look at your response. 🙂


Leave a Reply

