January Is Being Good To Me

After having an extraordinarily poor month in December (I suppose I should post stats for that), mainly due to the influence of Christmas and Christmas vacation, January has been going like gangbusters.  I’ve had my two highest sales days ever yesterday and today, and have already sold more in January than the entire month of December.  I’m not entirely sure whether this is due to a spike in interest due to the new term starting (which means teachers need a new first day of the term game) or whether it is due to me now being on the front page of the search for bingo cards on Google, which has resulted in a sustained doubling of my traffic.

Hairy Irish has mentioned in the past that January is always a good month for him, and this could possibly be a seasonal bump here, too.  I wish I knew what his market looked like so I could tell if they looked anything like my own, but as he is happily anonymous I guess I will have to just speculate.  (My totally unsubstantiated guess is that he sells software to a broad horizontal consumer market.)

Regardless, I certainly hope the trend continues.  If I can finally find some time alone this weekend and don’t fall ill again (this last week I’ve been laid-low by a cold) I hope to get a new version of the software out, which will provide a short-term spike in downloads and hopefully a modest long-term improvement in conversion rates.  It incorporates many of the improvements in printing and layout that folks have been requesting.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “January Is Being Good To Me”

  1. Ian Says:

    That Google first page is bound to drive sales up nicely. This is a bit off topic, but have you thought about offering an site license option? I could see schools buying this to put on each classroom machine, etc. Maybe $299/$499 or something like that?

  2. Patrick Says:

    I suppose I should do that. I offer a discount for buying multiple copies at once but to date I’ve sold exactly zero that way. (This isn’t really a program that screams site license, though. For one, kids don’t generally make bingo cards themselves unless its under the direction of a teacher, in which case automating it is counterproductive to the educational goal of having the kids write out the 25 spelling words. For two, most teachers would probably consider it worthwhile to beg a set of cards off the one teacher with a copy of bingo card creator rather than paying for a license to make the cards themselves.)

  3. Ian Says:

    I mean a site license to all the teachers in a district, etc. I know the schools around here have a computer in each classroom so this would allow a district to put Bingo on each computer. I sell a lot of HelpSpot licenses to K-12 schools which made me think of it. You’d probably have to figure out how to market it right. Perhaps going through existing customers, letting them be your advocates to administration that Bingo is a cool program and would be great for all the teachers to have, etc.

  4. Mark Says:

    We are b2b and January is always good for us too. Start of the FY in the US perhaps?


Leave a Reply

