Stats in Pretty Pictures

Images may be truncated by WordPress.  Feel free to click them to see the whole thing.

I had been planning to post these on my first year anniversary but somebody asked for them early so here they are.  Same disclaimers as normally: these were prepared for a blog post, not the IRS, and I did not exactly go to the extra mile to ensure their accuracy.  (They understate my July to December expenses as reported to the IRS by about $80, which I think is an artifact of cash accounting for the IRS and accrual accounting for the blog posts I grabbed most of this info from.  For example, when I pay for 12 months of service in advance to the IRS that all gets expensed in that tax year but in my blog posts I break it out on a per-month basis.) 

Keep in mind that the Google tracking, despite being mechanized, still depends on me not borking the tracking code, which I used to do on a semi-regular basis.  That is the main reason I’m not showing conversions on the graphs here. 

Actual totals:

Sales: $6,333

Expenses: $1,720

Profits: $4,613

Visits: 63,429

OK, pretty picture time:

 Bingo Card Creator Year One Profits

 Visitors:

Visitor timeline for Bingo Card Creator

Both Slashdot and the Joel on Software mentions were of my blog, not of my product site, but they resulted in a few clickthroughs to the main site.  (Incidentally: the blog gets about twice as many hits as the product site.)  You’ll note that the dog that didn’t bark is “Why is Patrick not seeing a trough of visitors (and sales!) now that school is out for summer, much like he saw troughs at Christmas, Easter, and every single US public holiday?”  Thats a good question, and I’m mulling some potential answers, but we’ll know more about them in about 2 weeks.

Notes on December: I don’t have a blog post for stats in December so I guesstimated my expenses by hand with a cursory glance at my credit card statement and Paypal account.  The sales stats are accurate — thanks, e-junkie.  Again, you’re not the IRS, so please don’t audit me.  It is in the right ballpark if I take the number claimed on my schedule C and subtract out the months I do have exact numbers for, remembering that my quixotic accounting standard screws up that comparison a bit.

Notes on June: Its the 14th of June as I posted this, and I did the uberscientific “multiply sales and expenses by two” to estimate income for the month.  That was probably overly aggressive for both numbers.  Ask me in two weeks.

Explore posts in the same categories: microISV, stats

4 Comments on “Stats in Pretty Pictures”

  1. Baruch Says:

    Kudos for releasing the information!

    I wonder though, isn’t there a problem with your business, your sales grow constantly but your profits seem to be pretty constant. I would have expected the profits to grow together with the growth of sales.

  2. Patrick Says:

    I apologize for the lack of readability of the graph, and if I had the sense God gave the common tree squirrel I would have SAVED the freaking data after generating it, so I could redo it in another graphing package with line widths larger than one pixel. That being said, if you squint a bit, you’ll see that my *expenses* are flat and my *profits* rise in lockstep with sales, rather than the other way around.

    So I’m not doing that poorly 🙂

  3. Patrick Says:

    (Try clicking to see the whole thing, incidentally. You might be reading this on wordpress, where half of the graph will be clipped by my sidebar.)

  4. Baruch Says:

    OK. I now noticed my mistake. For some reason I misinterpreted the bottom line as profit.

    I actually viewed the graphs in my rss reader so there was no issue with the graphs being cut on the side as it is in WordPress. It’s just my own sight that failed me.


Leave a Reply

