Marketing Runs In The Family

My little brother just had his first successful piece of linkbait hit it big: List of Superhero Powers.  It got farked and then so did the VPS I was hosting his blog on.  I have spent the last hour fighting with the configuration so that it can withstand a traffic graph that looks something like a standing wave.  It seems to be stable now, thankfully. 

Sidenote to anyone who thinks playing amateur server admin in crisis mode is a good idea: put your Apache config files in version control because if you bork your redirection code and don’t remember how you got it working the first time you will be sorry.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Marketing Runs In The Family”

  1. Rich Says:

    Is that the same VPS you’re using for the Rails project? What are the practical limits of that configuration (assuming it’s a 256 slice)? Can it run a few blogs alongside Rails?

    BTW, I’m looking at Gandi’s new VPS services; they look interesting (and cheaper). Of course, you don’t generally get what you don’t pay for.

  2. Patrick Says:

    This VPS currently has only that blog running on it (I originally had planned to use it for Kalzumeus). Yeah, I’m pretty confident that I could run all three of my web properties (Bingo Card Creator (static HTML), Daily Bingo Cards (Rails), and this blog (WordPress) on a single 256 Slice. Memory would get a little tight if I got a majorly popular blog post and didn’t have a WP caching plugin enabled, though.

    (Sidenote: since the blog has exclusive run of the box I’m using Apache/MySQL, but if I were to put everything on one 256 Slice, I would switch Apache to Nginx because it is *much* more memory efficient. It cuts at least a Mongrel worth of overhead off.)


Leave a Reply

