What Do You Want To See Covered Here?

I am going to try to write one of my longer, meatier pieces in the next week (it is SEO/information architecture related, and should be of interest to those uISVs who have hundreds of pages rather than the typical 5 page brochure site), and after that I don’t have a strong idea for a topic to cover yet.  I thought I would ask you guys: what do you want to see covered here?  I’m in principle open to writing about almost anything within my capabilities, and quite a bit of the stuff outside of them, too. 😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

12 Comments on “What Do You Want To See Covered Here?”

  1. Gert Says:

    Patrick,

    Did you ever have a customer for BCC that could be tracked back to this blog, or to one of your posts on BOS?
    I am just wondering if all the effort you put into this blog (which *is* appreciated) ultimately buys you another drink.

    Gert

  2. Yakov Says:

    My question would be: How do you track exactly where sales are coming from? How is your AdWords/Analytics/CrazyEgg account configured to separate customers from visitors, so you can maximize revenue?

  3. BCCSucks Says:

    If PM would put more effort into making better software (instead of Bingo Card Creator, with its scanty functionality and ugly java swing interface), and not focus on how he can better push a shoddy product via Adwords and SEO, he might actually get somewhere. All the SEO and Google Analytics in the world cant increase your revenue when what your selling sucks. Focus on your core business first, then worry about marketing.

  4. Patrick Says:

    >>
    I am just wondering if all the effort you put into this blog (which *is* appreciated) ultimately buys you another drink.
    >>

    Oh, doctor, yes. The blog is worth about $100 to $200 a month just in “residual” income from the post “Free Bingo Cards”. (I need to keep blogging to keep that post ranked, as it falls into obscurity when I have long writing droughts. *sigh* Good thing I like blogging.) My involvement in the uISV community is also responsible for the lion’s share of my backlinks. It also opens up doors, like getting the Google case study and getting published in Steph’s book.

    I can also count on 5-10 people who are highly technically inclined to back me if I should I ever decide to do anything else with my skills. That would make an excellent post topic, actually.

    BCCSucks:

    You’re welcome to your opinion. I have several hundred people who are welcome to theirs that Bingo Card Creator was more than adequate for their needs, and a few dozen folks who are rather extraordinarily enthusiastic about it. You’ll understand if I credit their opinion on the matter slightly more than I do yours — cash has a funny way of concentrating the mind.

    Regardless, I think it will be excellent training for when I launch Product #2, whenever I get enough consecutive hours free from the new day job to even consider launching a Product #2.

  5. ColinM Says:

    I would like to see a step-by-step approach to setting up adwords from the beginning with concrete examples. How do I pick keywords? Maybe I can think of a handful but I see other people using 100’s of them?

  6. Martin Bromley Says:

    Mr McKenzie, I think you have an enviable talent for writing. If you have any secrets in that department that you’d care to share, I for one would be an avid reader.

    I suspect that you don’t even really think about it all that much – you just write, and the quality content flows. What do you think it might be that holds the majority of us back from creating lots of content that’s a pleasure to read?

  7. BCCSucks Says:

    Actually, PM, your knowledge and insight of Internet marketing is so deep and profound, it scares me to think of how successful you will be once you do have a killer app to apply this knowledge and insight.

    PM, I think what you need to do is engage in some division of labor: team up with a talented application programmer, and then go off and make millions. A micro-ISV has one fatal flaw: no one can be the best at everything, and you lose the benefits of comparative advantage.

  8. Raj P Says:

    Patrick – I enjoy your blog, keep up the good work.

    You’ve done an excellent job getting high Google ranks for several search terms. Can you write a series of posts about how other microISVs can get high ranking in organic search results?

    BTW, I believe your answer to BCCSucks is right on. Focus on satisfied customers, and how to find more like them. There will always be critics, take what they say with a grain (sometimes a boulder!) of salt.


  9. @Martin Bromley – Joel Spolsky mention how to do that once. Practice. Write all the time. Write junk. Write good stuff… just write. It’s a skill like any other, and it takes practice.

  10. Chris Exline Says:

    +1 for a tutorial on setting up an adwords campaign from the start.

    Have you considered leaving full time employment to work on product #2? It seems like you know enough people to partner if you wanted to and have enough skills to market a product once it is completed. And you do a have some income with BCC on the side. What’s stopping you from leaving your job for 6-12 months and trying to launch your second product? I don’t know the current employment situation in Japan, but it seems like you should not have trouble finding a new job. And given your fame at BoS and beyond, I bet that you could find a company that would let you work remotely in Japan if you wanted.

  11. Patrick Says:

    Social concerns, among other things. There is a certain expectation that I not quit my job after 6 months in Japan — my bosses and contacts, both of which went to bat mightily for me to get me this job, would feel mostly stabbed in the back by it. That would also put a big black spot on my resume for hire by any other companies in Japan, ever.

    Working remotely in Japan would also give me some formidable legal difficulties with maintaining my status of residence (similar to what Americans would think of as a visa). They’re not insurmountable, but I really, really would not want to be unemployed with a handful of months left before expiration of my status. (Japan does not have quite the social acceptance of self-employment that America does, and that goes double-and-squared for the bureacracy I’d be dealing with.)


Leave a Reply

