Quick Request

One of my customers has had issues on five (!) XP boxes installing Bingo Card Creator.  That suggests to me either a problem customer or a borked executable, which has happened to me on GoDaddy in the past.  Sales have been slow for the last 3-4 days, too, which means it is just possible it is happening, but it installs and runs fine on my Vista machine.  Could anybody who runs XP quick install the free trial of Bingo Card Creator and tell me if you can successfully execute the program?  If you see the main screen and the popup suggesting you check for updates to the program, you’re done.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Quick Request”

  1. Geoff Says:

    Installed on an XP VM and it runs fine!


  2. Same here. Installed Great. Auto-redirected to java.sun.com to download the JRE. Bingo Card Creator launched and checked for updates just fine.


  3. Hey Patrick,

    Seems to work fine on my install of XP.

    Have you thought of running a copy of XP in a virtual machine for testing purposes?

    Best,
    Jordan

  4. Brian Yamabe Says:

    I’ve got a problem system. I get a Java Virtual Machine Launcher dialog with “Could not find the main class. Program will exit.” I have JRE 1.5.0_14. Any other info I can help with?

  5. jivlain Says:

    Works for me, on JRE 1.6.0_03 (fresh install of Java, didn’t have one previously)

  6. Mark Pearce Says:

    I got the same error as Brian, running version 1.4.2.

    I then tried to install the latest version of Java (6.3) from your Java download link – the online download took over 5 minutes for 7.1 MB (!) on a 8 MB connection, but the install was aborted with a weird local lock error.

    The second attempt at installing version 6.3 was aborted with error 1606 (could not access network location).

    So I tried to download the off-line (13.9 MB) version of Java install, but gave up after waiting for 5 minutes.

  7. Mark Pearce Says:

    Finally managed to download and install 1.6.03, and then BCC worked just fine.

  8. Brian Yamabe Says:

    I can’t actually upgrade my JVM because I do development based on JDK 5.

  9. Patrick Says:

    Thanks all for your reports. I assume the issue is that my new Ant build script is spitting out 1.6-compatible Java when the launcher program is expecting 1.4, like I have been using for a while. Curses, will fix that tonight after I get home from work.

    On the plus side, it is good to know that the download-Java bit is working. I never hear about actual customers using it so it is sort of a living-on-a-prayer thing.


Leave a Reply

