Pressing My Customers’ Buttons

In my continuing desire to split test the heck out of everything, and my continuing total inability to graphically design to save my life, I went back to the LogoSamurai folks and got some buttons designed for the website as drop-in replacements of my current ones.  I’m also getting some made by my web designer Gursimran, and will be testing tNew buttons to testhe two against each other (and, of course, against the current set) and keeping the ones which are most successful at driving the conversions. 

Gursimran isn’t done with her set yet, but since the Logo Samurai guys are, I thought I’d give you a sneak peek.

As you can see, these are much more Web 2.0 than most web sites in my niche, and quite different from the previous look&feel for the Bingo Card Creator site.  That’s why we test them, of course — I don’t want my opinion on what my customers want to calcify and blind me to the actual facts of what they act upon.  Gursimran has a very different visual style so I’m intensely interested in seeing how things work out.  (Sidenote: I love the pencil!)

Cost for these, incidentally: $60, $15 per button.  I had to convince Gursimran to take money for the buttons, as she wanted to just throw them in with the price I already paid for the web design.  As great a deal that is, I would feel really terrible imposing on her like that — professionals should not be afraid to charge money for services, in my opinion.

Plus, if the winning set of button increases my trial conversion rate by 1% and/or my purchase conversion rate by 1%, that would work out to be quite a bit of money.  I also like keeping all of my freelancers happy with me, as I feel it will tend to get me work done in a timely and high quality manner, and thus prevent me from having to go play Russian Roulette with the freelancer sites to find a replacement source of talent.

Explore posts in the same categories: web design

5 Comments on “Pressing My Customers’ Buttons”

  1. James Avery Says:

    Have you thought about testing “Text Buttons”? The more the web is slowly plastered in ads, the more ineffective big buttons become. I am not sure if they would be better or not, but if you are testing why not try out something like what 37signals does? (big text and a different color background)

    http://www.basecamphq.com/

    -James

  2. Patrick Says:

    I might consider doing that, but your conclusion that big buttons are ineffective flies in the face of nearly two years of data I have on the subject…

  3. Brian Says:

    I worked at a software company (briefly) that was completely obsessed with making tiny changes to their web site and trying to measure whether that increased conversions. We tracked everything from the first visit to the site, which pages they clicked on, what in the software they clicked on (one reason I left right away was their practice of tracking usage inside the software with no notification/opt-out for the user), how long it took them to sign up, what path they took to register the software (directly in the app or through the web site). While I was there, I was writing log file analysis tools and reports for all the above stuff. They literally had this system where they could “micro test” dozens of different things at once – web site background colors, images, text alignment, font size/colors, etc. They would run tests for very short periods of time, implement permanently whatever spiked on the graphs, and never revisit. They even hired a statistician who eventually told them exactly what I had been telling them: They didn’t leave their tests on long enough, and therefore, what worked on day was completely opposite of what worked another day, and the most important thing they could do to increase conversions was to increase the quality of the software itself, not endlessly tweak their HTML. I worked there for only about 3 months and during that time, every test said they should be increasing sales, but when I ran the reports at the end of each day, sales were flat.

    Anyway, I’m not trying to say web site design has nothing to do with conversions (it does), and I’m not trying to say you shouldn’t be testing different buttons (you should), but I am trying to say that it’s important to A) not get too caught up in things like this, since results can change with the wind, B) continue to check your assumptions C) what works one day or week may not work the next day or week.

  4. ColinM Says:

    I would expect a 3% download increase with the new buttons 🙂

  5. Doug Says:

    I have to agree with Brian on this. I would not get caught up in testing and retesting small tweaks like this (although your website did need a redesign). Even though each change may show a small improvement in conversion, as a whole, it may make absolutely no difference.

    I think the most beneficial thing for you would be to have an application that does NOT look like it was written for Windows 3.1 plastered across your first page. 😉


Leave a Reply

