I’m starting to feel the itch again

It was weird — while showing one of my coworkers the beauty of famfamfam icons for possible use in sprucing up one of our online applications, I mentioned that every time I see a good, pretty icon set I get the urge to make an application just to be able to use them.

“So why don’t you?”, he asks me.

And lately, I have not been able to come up with a good answer for that question.  I mean, work is killing me but I have enough time to waste it on browsing the Internet.  I certainly am not hurting for startup funds this time around, and I know what needs to be done to get a business up and running. 

So I’ve started kicking around some ideas.  Of course, I’m not exaggerating on work is killing me, so it will have to be something where I can see progress with a bunch of 2 hour mini-sprints after getting in the door around midnight.  That suggests it should probably be a web application.  Alas, Java, I knew ye well…

I have also been having persistent dreams of a particular application.  They’ve gotten so vivid as to include database schema…  but the waking me knows that the business model is terrible.  Just asking for total failure.  Nobody could ever pay money for it.  And yet, I would really want to see this get made…  We’ll see.

Further updates in the usual space.

Speaking of which, I haven’t been blogging much lately, part for lack of energy and part for lack of ideas.  I have been considering doing some severe surgery to the blog to collect much of the information in a more permanent, sensible manner — so that you could, say, click on a category listing for SEO and then get material about that in an organized order rather than just seeing my random thoughts on it arranged by date.  That would be a large project, though, and at the moment I want for time.  So if you have ideas for shorter things that you’d like to read in the meantime, drop me a line in the comments.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “I’m starting to feel the itch again”

  1. Alice Says:

    “but the waking me knows that the business model is terrible. Just asking for total failure.”

    What? Worse than a bingo card creator for teachers?! You managed to perfect your SEO and dominate in this tiny crazy market. Why not in another?

    Go for it!

  2. Mark McLaren Says:

    “That suggests it should probably be a web application. Alas, Java, I knew ye well…”

    You’re saying Java’s no good for a web application? What do you prefer?

  3. Patrick Says:

    I do Big Freaking Enterprise Apps in Java for 14+ hours at a stretch at the day job, and that would completely cure any possible desire to do it at my uISV. Rails is much, much kinder to me.

  4. Alaa Salman Says:

    “but the waking me knows that the business model is terrible. Just asking for total failure. Nobody could ever pay money for it. And yet, I would really want to see this get made… We’ll see.”

    So why don’t you blog about it and maybe someone from the community will help you with it or just outright build it.

    On another note, perhaps finding a programming partner would help with the time barrier and the enthusiasm.


  5. I love the famfamfam icons. I made sure to send him some cash over a year ago when I put out Paint.NET v3.0 🙂


Leave a Reply

